Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Thursday, March 6, 2008

10 Facts about the presidency through the ages.

Everyone loves lists, especially lists about bizarre facts, so here you go world, a list of strange facts about the Presidents of the United States of America.

1. There were only 3 times in history where there was no living former President. This happened in 1800 with the death of Washington, 1876 when Johnson passed, and finally in 1907 when Grover Cleveland died.

2. The most presidents(past, present, and future) alive at one time, was 18, this happened 17 times, mostly around the time period of 1820-1850 with the births of Grant, Hayes, Garfield, Arthur, Cleveland, Harrison, and finally McKinley.

3. The oldest president elected was Ronald Reagan, at 69, when he left office after an eight year term, he was just short of being 78.

4. David Rice Atchison was president for a day, and is not recorded in history books. On March 4, 1849, President Polk's term had expired and President-elect Taylor could not yet be sworn in because it was a Sunday. Thus Atchison became president as he was President Pro Tem of the Senate. The law has since been changed.

5. 4 Presidents were assassinated in office; Lincoln, Garfield, McKinley, and Kennedy

6. Though there were assassination attempts on 6 presidents; Jackson, T. Roosevelt, F. Roosevelt, Truman, Ford, and Reagan.

7. Although George W. Bush is the 43rd President, there have only been 42 presidents, Cleveland was president from 1885-1889 and then again from 1893-1897

8. Kennedy was not the youngest president, although he is usually regarded as such, partially because he died at a young age (46) and also because he was the youngest elected as president. The youngest serving president was Theodore Roosevelt; he was elected at 42.

9. Gerald Ford was never actually elected as either president or vice president. He became VP when Nixon's VP Spiro T Agnew resigned, and then when Nixon resigned in 1974.

10. In recent history, no political party has been able to keep office for more than 2 presidents. In all history this has only happened once, from 1868 to 1884. The Republican Party had 4 consecutive presidents elected; Grant - Hayes - Garfield - Arthur.